Student Government Update

BY David Russell-Jensen
For the UAS Whalesong

Your student government, the United Students of the University of Alaska Southeast, Juneau Campus (USUAS-JC), wish a belated welcome (or welcome back) to UAS! We hope that you, dear reader, may have met some of us at some of the kick-butt events we’ve hosted or sponsored both on and off campus this year so far. With the sponsorship of GCI, we co-hosted the Welcome Back Bonfire, and in collaboration with the Student Activity Board, we sponsored Campus Kickoff earlier this month, an event we hope everyone made it to and got some great food, UAS merchandise, and connected with clubs, other students, and the campus. We’re looking forward to sponsoring more events this year and look forward to meeting everyone.

Our team is composed of five senators, one vice president, and one president, all elected at large by you, students! Elections happen both in the fall and in the spring semesters. In the spring, four members were elected: Senators Alicia Norton, Lyda Rees, Vice President Austin Tagaban, and President David Russell-Jensen, which left three senator seats open. Student government representatives were at Campus Kickoff to entice you with Paninis and encourage you to run for student government! We want to extend a huge thank you to the candidates who ran for the senator positions, and are happy to welcome Senators Paige DeBoer, Cassidy Briskar, and Kelly Gerlach!

Check us out on Facebook (University of Alaska SE Student Government) or our website (just Google “USUAS-JC”) to find out more about what we do and to find our weekly meeting time. Additionally, we have free coffee and sweets every Wednesday from 10:00 a.m.–noon in the Student Government Office, located downstairs in the Mourant Building, Room 124 (just go past the Student Resource Center, past the Counseling Center, through the first double-doors, and on the right next to the elevator). Feel free to stop by the office any time of the week — we’re usually there.

Your student government,
David Russell-Jensen, Austin Tagaban, Alicia Norton, Lyda Rees

Leave a Reply